Feeds:
Posts
Comments

Archive for June 3rd, 2009

And it’s really expensive to get there.

 I’m in the process of booking a flight home for summer vacation…and I’m stressing big time. First, I have to get permission for the days off from my supervisor at the school, N-sensei. Then, I have to make sure there isn’t anything going on at the Board of Education, and get permission from my supervisor, K-san, there. The BOE supervisor is really busy, so he’s hard to get hold of. In the few days since I last checked my ticket, the price has already increased by 3 man (¥30, 000 or about $300). That’s a bloody lot. I panicked a bit when I read that, so I urged my JTE to contact him. Permission was granted but there is one more little glitch…the trip requires 14 days of paid leave and I currently only have 11. However, my new contract will come into effect at the end of July, at which time I should receive 10 more days of paid leave for next year. I’m not sure that either supervisor is aware of this. I had attempted to explain initially, but I’m not sure I got my point across.

 SO I’m just going to hope it works out. I don’t see why it should be a problem, since the new contract will come into effect just days after I leave, but you never know. Japanese bureaucracy can be funny sometimes, and I can’t always predict what Japanese people will think. Basically, I’m feeling very jittery and stressed at the moment. I’m having a hard time focusing on work just now. If you can call it work. I have had only one class today and I don’t even have Elective English next week, so I have virtually nothing to do.

 In the future, I’m going to make sure I book EVEN MORE in advance. Let this be a lesson to anyone else traveling overseas as well…BOOK EARLY!!

Read Full Post »